Beginner: How to work with all the Gaia generated terrains and gameobjects?

TooLoo
Go to solution Solved by Bryan,

Hello there,

I'm still new to working with terrains. I used Gaia pro 2021 to successfully generate a 6km x 6km world with the default alpine biome readily available with Gaia. I have a few questions on the workflow afterwards:

1. When Gaia creates its runtime stuff, it adds a loading screen, player controller, terrain manager and a few other things. Are these Gaia-generated gameobjects with scripts necessary to use this generated world? I tried removing Gaia's provided player controller and added my own player controlled camera that I'm using for my game, but the terrain chunks stopped loading automatically as I move my custom camera around.

2. For large worlds, I see the terrain chunks have been separated into different scenes. If I'm using my own character controllers now, do I have to create my own scripts to control how the scenes will load depending on their location? For example, if my custom character just keeps walking in one direction, will the terrain loading/unloading automatically be handled by Gaia (i.e. by this "Terrain Loader Manager" gameobject in the hierarchy) or do I have to handle it myself.

3. I created this world in an empty test project. How would I export the terrains with all the relevant Gaia-settings into my actual game project? Or is it better to just import the Gaia pro 2021 into my game project and generate the world directly in my game project?

Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.

• Solution
On 5/2/2022 at 1:04 PM, TooLoo said: