How I made my own build pipeline (overview)

MiTschMR

As an asset developer myself, I want to have my assets tested against every possible version of Unity and make sure that it works with every build target. If you have made your own scripts or tools, you may know some of these struggles. Testing an asset against multiple versions of Unity requires you to make a project with each version, import it and see if there are any errors. If there are, you have to fix them of course (or simply say that you don't support this version, like the tech stream versions). In my case, I have one editor asset, one for editor and runtime stuff as well as many more scripts that just relieve me in my work with Unity. If I want to see what issues might arise if I bump a project or asset to another version or build target, I thought it would be much easier to just make my own build pipeline that can take the latest commit to the version control system, build it with all Unity versions and build targets that are assigned to the project and see if there are any errors. If there are errors thrown, I can dig specifically look at this build target and/or editor version and fix the issues that arose. 

But how do you approach something like that? I use a version control system (VCS), have my Unity installations somewhere on my computer, my projects as well and want to have as little influence on my workflow as possible. I don't want to hassle with anything just to make this work. So I thought it should be a web application, that exposes a web API for your VCS as well as several dashboard or management options to configure the projects, install new Unity versions and their associated build targets, view the builds etc.