Look Mum, I'm an artist!

Sorra the Orc

I started learning Unity just a few years ago. I've not released any games yet, but I have put out a bunch of game jam entries. I'm simply learning as I target a game launch in 2024. As I learn I produce tutorial videos to solidify it in my mind. I spend far too much money on assets as I learn the trade. The vast majority I do not use once I've built a prototype, but PW tools are an exception to this.

They do not provide a "make my game" button.

They do not even provide a "make my level" button.

What they do is provide a "make my prototype level in seconds" button and then they provide a raft of tools to turn that prototype level into a real level.

Within seconds (literally) of installing Gaia, for example, you will get a dopamine hit as you are running around a terrain that looks great. I got that first hit in 2016. I still remember proudly showing my wife and kids that I was a visual artist. Something I have never felt I would be able to claim.

Over the years I have dug deeper and deeper. I've learned a ton about Unity and a ton about Gaia. The tools go so much deeper than that magic "World Designer" dopamine hit. I'm currently putting the final touches to a tool that randomizes World Designer values within defined constraints and then generates hundreds of terrains for me. I use my own Biomes tuned for the game I am building, but you get some awesome biomes to get you started, I can generate hundreds of possible levels in hours. I review those terrains, selecting the ones that are "close enough" to what I need and get to work. 

At this point GeNa comes out. Placing areas the player is intended to go to. Adjusting the terrain to suit. Creating denser forest to discourage players from going that way. Planting lighter colour vegetation to draw the player forward. Placing incidental buildings to break the line of sight and improve both performance and player intrigue. And more.