D3D11 SwapChain Error Fix

SevenLZ
Go to solution Solved by SevenLZ,

• Solution

Copied from Discord:

"Hello, everyone. I am a Gaia Pro customer working on a newly built computer (Ryzen 5600X 6 core @3.9ghz, 128gb ddr4, 1tb M.2, Radeon RX 6700XT 12gb). I am receiving an error about a D3D11 swapchain when I try to follow the tutorial. I have tried using the very newest version of Unity, and I have also tried the LTS version 2020.3.25f1. I have poked around online, and it seems like this is a pretty common error that is thrown in a lot of situations, but the only one I encounter it in is when using Gaia Pro, specifically when spawning the biome."

After posting this message in the discord, I continued to troubleshoot using the many fixes I found elsewhere online until I came on the one that worked, which I was later asked to document here for the benefit of the community. Here's what I learned today.

The fix: 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/display/tdr-registry-keys

Either setting the TdrLevel registry key to 0, or creating it with a level of 0 stops this error if it is being thrown because Gaia Pro is sending heavy workloads to the GPU.

Please note, you may find some fixes online that reference the TdrDelay registry key. This did not have any effect on the issue I encountered.

The reason this works: