Looking for some guidance - what is the best approach for this scenario?

Edmar

Hello there. 

I'm new to scene streaming, and I'm looking for some guidance on what could be the best approach to stream sections in my game main location: a tiny city in the middle of nowhere. Please, find attached a drawing of what the city will more or less look like.

Some houses and some hotel rooms will always be locked (the player can't enter), the remainder of them will have full interiors, with items the player will interact with, collect etc, as well, some npcs. 

I really have two questions here:

• While on the hotel 2nd floor is pretty clear (main hall being a big sector, all other rooms small sectors and doors used as portals). What would be the best approach for the other houses? Make the streets as sectors and connect them with the houses through portals, or just stick a region loader on the player prefab and let it load those by distance.

And here is the trick one:

•  Some of these houses/hotel rooms will be "locked" until mid-late game, and their interior can change according to some player actions. While simply having each room configuration on their own prefab/object on the hierarchy and just enabling/disabling or instantiating them accordingly seems an easy way out, I would like to know if Sectr could help me with that as well. Like would it be possible to have two sectors overlapping on the same position and load the necessary one programmatically or even choose which chunk will be loaded for that particular region?  

Thanks in advance!

EscapeRoom Puzzles.drawio.png

Edited by Edmar
Spelling

On 12/14/2023 at 11:21 AM, Edmar said:

I really have two questions here: